Research Computing Oversight Committee

The Research Computing Oversight Committee was created to oversee the development and execution of a comprehensive University-wide research computing strategy, along with attendant policies, and to provide advice to the vice provost for research and the director of research computing on research computing challenges and opportunities.

Chaired by Karen KimVice Provost for Research, Professor of Medicine, Associate Director of the University of Chicago Medicine Comprehensive Cancer Center, and the Director of the Center for Asian Health Equity, the Oversight Committee also includes:

  • Luc Anselin, Stein-Freiler Distinguished Service Professor of Sociology and the College. Director, Center for Spatial Data Science

  • Diane Brentari, Professor in Linguistics and the Humanities Collegiate Division

  • Aaron Dinner, Associate Professor in Chemistry

  • Michael Franklin, Liew Family Chair of Computer Science. Sr. Advisor to the Provost for Computation and Data

  • T. Conrad Gilliam, Dean for research and graduate education, Biological Sciences Division; Marjorie I. and Bernard A. Mitchell Professor in Human Genetics; senior fellow, Computation Institute; Pritzker Fellow, University of Chicago and the Pritzker School of Medicine

  • Susan Goldin-Meadow, Bearsdley Ruml Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Psychology, Comparative Human Development

  • Nicholas Hatsopoulos, Professor in Organismal Biology and Anatomy; chair, Committee on Computational Neuroscience

  • Brent Neiman, Edward Eagle Brown Professor of Economics – Chicago Booth

  • Juan de Pablo, Liew Family Professor in Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago | Vice President for National Laboratories | Senior Scientist at Argonne National Laboratory

  • Benoit Roux, Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics

  • David Schloen, Associate Professor in Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, the Oriental Institute, and the Divinity School

  • Michael Turner, Bruce V. & Diana M Rauner Distinguished Service Professor in Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics, and the College

  • Greg Voth, Haig P. Papazian Distinguished Service Professor in Chemistry

Primary Staff:

H. Birali Runesha, assistant vice president and director of the Research Computing Center

Ex Officio Staff:

Kevin Boyd, associate vice president for information technology and chief information officer